PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Collaborators

jmadero
November 9th, 2011, 07:56 AM
This is a double post so I hope this doesn't violate forum rules (someone in the community cafe told me I might want to post here as well). Here's a link to the discussion happening, hoping to get person/people together in the next few days to start the brainstorming. Thanks

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1877727

Smart Viking
November 9th, 2011, 12:25 PM
I'd be willing to share technical knowledge about Python, if that's the language you chose to use.

Drenriza
November 9th, 2011, 01:00 PM
I'm also new to programming, but would like to learn. Where i have spent most of my time in C#. But if a slot is open, im up for it.

11jmb
November 9th, 2011, 04:02 PM
I don't have time to be a full-time developer or anything, but I can provide some guidance if you would like.

First of all, I recommend clearly defining your problem. "debt management" is not nearly enough. You need to start thinking about use cases: Who is going to use this and for what?

Do you have accounting experience? somebody on the project should.

Once you have use cases that are detailed and clearly defined, then you can move forward.

Also, I recommend getting a basic website as kind of a "home base" for collaboration. Something simple like blogspot might be a good start

Good luck :D

jmadero
November 9th, 2011, 05:13 PM
For those of you with technical knowledge I'm hearing python is the way to go, I have no experience in python but am willing to go that route if it's equal to or better than C++ (I've always been told C++ has a lot of benefits of Python including speed and compatibility with different distros/OS's.

As for other comments, anyone who is truly interested please message me and I'll get you my email address so we can start an IRC chat soon to discuss the project.