PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Package dependencies during installation and removal

Seb_77
November 7th, 2011, 07:28 PM
Hi,

I am a linux newbie and I am concerned with the way all the linux tools that handle installation or removal of applications "live" together. I wish to know the best conduit to adopt to avoid breaking dependencies by removing critical packages but still save disk space by not leaving unused libraries on the system.

Most linux users manage the installation/removal of their applications through various means: the software center (SC), synaptic package manager (SPM), apt-get shell calls (APT) and from manual source compilation/copy with make (MC). If I understood it right SC and SPM are mostly graphical front-ends to APT.

Let's imagine a simple scenario where a user "manually" installs 2 new packages with the apt-get commands on a fresh linux box:
Step 1) A package A is installed: an executable EA and 2 libraries LA1 and LA2 are installed from A plus an extra package B which is automatically downloaded and installed since it is specified as a dependency to A.
Step 2) A package C is installed: an executable EC and 1 library LC1 are installed; C
additionally requires the package B and the library LA2.

Now the questions:
1) Are the dependencies of A and C on B specified in the packages A and C themselves?
2) What are the default paths where the executables and the libraries are installed? Are they ALWAYS specified in the packages themselves?
3) In step 2, will APT install LA2 and B or notice that it they are already "somewhere" and smartly link their paths with symbolic links in the required locations?
4) Can the package A be safely removed by APT without having C dependency on LA2 and B broken? Will APT at least remove EA and LA1?
5) Can the package C be safely removed by APT without having A dependency on LA2 and B broken? Will APT at least remove EC and LC1?