PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] What has GNOME shell got to do with Unity?

jasoncruz98
November 5th, 2011, 03:16 PM
I am totally new to Linux, and what I know is basically that Ubuntu 11.10 is running on Unity desktop environment. I haven't installed Ubuntu 11.10, although I already have Ubuntu 9.10 installed on my USB. I already know what is GNOME.

I see many people talking about installing GNOME shell in Oneiric Ocelot. Now what I need to know is what is GNOME shell? Is GNOME shell a desktop environment or a window manager? What does it do?

What I plan to do is install Compiz Fusion on Ubuntu 11.10, so does GNOME shell affect that? And what I see on the web is that GNOME shell has different extensions.

I am really confused. What is a shell, what does a shell do and what is a GNOME shell extension? If someone would care to explain to me what is all this about and what GNOME shell does for me that Unity desktop environment doesn't have, I really appreciate it.

haqking
November 5th, 2011, 03:29 PM
I am totally new to Linux, and what I know is basically that Ubuntu 11.10 is running on Unity desktop environment. I haven't installed Ubuntu 11.10, although I already have Ubuntu 9.10 installed on my USB. I already know what is GNOME.

I see many people talking about installing GNOME shell in Oneiric Ocelot. Now what I need to know is what is GNOME shell? Is GNOME shell a desktop environment or a window manager? What does it do?

What I plan to do is install Compiz Fusion on Ubuntu 11.10, so does GNOME shell affect that? And what I see on the web is that GNOME shell has different extensions.

I am really confused. What is a shell, what does a shell do and what is a GNOME shell extension? If someone would care to explain to me what is all this about and what GNOME shell does for me that Unity desktop environment doesn't have, I really appreciate it.

Gnome shell is just that, it is a shell.

11.10 runs Gnome 3 DE which by default has a Unity shell running on it.