PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu 11.10 dual boot fails - I am close to despertate

unclesam.xu
November 2nd, 2011, 03:42 AM
I have been using ubuntu for 4 years , now I am really in trouble and I don't have a clue on how to fix it.

I just assemble a mini-ITX pc. bought a SATA 1TB drive. no CD drive yet ( on back up order). My plan is install Win7 on primary partition 1, install ubuntu 11.10 ( first time install, I used from 7.04 to 10.10 till this installation).

I can only manage fully automatic installation successfully on ubuntu.And after reset, I can boot into ubuntu with no issue. BUT, If I choose advance install which means I partition the disk manually, say- where is "/", where is "/home", how big they are. after installation - restart , It will show "bootmgr is missing" and then stop there. The live USB runs ubuntu with no problem.It shows fully automatic installation will generate a FAT16 partition(every small in size, I forgot how big,and that partition shows the flag of "boot") ahead of ext4 partition and a swap partition.

I can install win 7 without any issue.

But,

I want dual boot. there are something ubuntu can't do. But most of the things - I like ubuntu way more.

The nightmare of mine is, I can't make dual boot happen.

1) I did fully automatic installation ( choose install with win 7).
2) I did manual installation

the result are : grub 2 menu didn't show, boot into win 7 directly.

3) I read this article which is a step by step instruction of install win 7 and ubuntu 11.10, put grub 2 to /boot partition, then use easyBCD to control boot process - which is really good idea:

http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2011/05/22/how-to-dual-boot-windows-7-and-ubuntu-11-04/comment-page-4/#comments

the result is : after I choose ubuntu from easyBCD, the grub load with only like this:

grub>