PDA

View Full Version : New to programming in Ubuntu

DisPro
November 1st, 2011, 08:47 AM
Hey guys. I'm new to programming to Ubuntu. As you can tell from the title.
Well I'm a beginner mainly anyway only using Python, and Visual Basic in windows along with dabbling in C# for a very short period of time.

I was wondering what IDE you would recommend for C++

nvteighen
November 1st, 2011, 09:58 AM
Something's not clear to me from your post. Did you start with Python? Are you still a Python beginner?

(Before someone starts with the usual "No, learn X as first language", please read the rest of the post, because I'm not going that path here)

IMHO, it's quite counterproductive to jump from language to language. I don't care which one it is and I don't care if it's your first, second or millionth programming language: if you're learning some programming language, dedicate time to it, learn its advantages, its disadvantages and use it a lot, in order to get a feeling of what it does. Obviously, the more experience you have the less time you'll require to understand mainstream languages.

Now, onto IDEs. For a beginner, IMO, IDEs are more a burden than a helpful tool. IDEs are quite good (not a must, though) for people that have huge projects in languages like Java or C++, full with huge classes, complex interactions, hundreds of different polymorphic methods, etc. Such people may need something that helps organizing their code. On a contrary, for a newbie, the hassle of configuring an IDE, learning its quirks at the same time he's learning the quirks of programming, etc. is a waste of time.