PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Mplayer in 11.10

robn30
November 1st, 2011, 01:48 AM
Ok I am trying to install Mplayer in Ubuntu 11.10 and keep getting an error that I need to install gtk-2. GTK+3 is already installed but maybe it needs GTK+2. So when I try to install GTK2 in get the error listed below

checking for FT_New_Face in -lfreetype... yes
checking For sufficiently new FreeType (at least 2.0.1)... no
configure: error: pangoxft Pango backend found but did not find freetype libraries

I checked and libfreetype6 is installed but not sure if that is good enough. I am a beginner and need some expert advice here. I have been in and out of the Ubuntu (Linux) world and just don't know enough yet to smartly work around these errors. Thanks in advance for any help you all may provide me.

robn30
November 1st, 2011, 01:57 AM
I even just installed freetype 2.4.7 and all went well with that but still getting the error when trying to install GTK+2.

andrew.46
November 2nd, 2011, 12:52 PM
You are attempting to compile MPlayer from source? This is certainly an option if you are not happy with the repository offering, although a simple:

sudo apt-get install mplayer smplayer

is enough for many people. If you definitely need the latest MPlayer perhaps have a look here:

Howto: Build the svn MPlayer under the latest release version of Ubuntu
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1542240

robn30
November 2nd, 2011, 07:14 PM
You are attempting to compile MPlayer from source? This is certainly an option if you are not happy with the repository offering, although a simple:

sudo apt-get install mplayer smplayer

is enough for many people. If you definitely need the latest MPlayer perhaps have a look here:

Howto: Build the svn MPlayer under the latest release version of Ubuntu
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1542240