PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to overwrite old installation UBUNTU11.10

alexstar30_2000
October 30th, 2011, 07:38 AM
Dear Friends,I am new to Ubuntu,I have downloaded 11.10 Iso,and installed on my Laptop in a separate location than the c drive which contains windowsXP.

During installatin some problems happened but Ubuntu was finally installed in Drive D .

I have made another download of 11.10 and burned it on a fresh CD and looks working very well,I need to install a fresh version of 11.10 to overwrite the old installation but when i try to do this it didn't indicate that another version is there,I want to overwrite the old installation with a fresh installation without formatting the partition ,can't find any clue ,pls assist.

Rgds
A.Badawi

Megaptera
October 30th, 2011, 08:18 AM
I'm not sure how much I can help, but those that can will probably need to know what's where on your hard drive.

Please try and follow the instructions here: http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

Starfleet
October 30th, 2011, 11:41 AM
Firstly, make sure you know what partition your 11.10 installation is on. MAKE SURE YOU BACKUP ALL YOUR FILES before you do anything in Windows and Ubuntu!