PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ocelot Upgrade Issues

thelowerrhythm
October 27th, 2011, 01:33 AM
During the "Installing" portion of the upgrade I lost power at about 70% completion. Now when I boot the machine, I get a stripped-down version of the login screen with a frozen mouse cursor and a black background. The clock at the top ticks, however everything else appears to be hung.

I'm relatively new to Linux and so I'm not sure how to get the installer going again so that it can right this issue.:confused:

Any and all help is greatly appreciated, although if you know of a fix, I'd recommend giving me the idiot's guide. :)

collisionystm
October 27th, 2011, 01:37 AM
During the "Installing" portion of the upgrade I lost power at about 70% completion. Now when I boot the machine, I get a stripped-down version of the login screen with a frozen mouse cursor and a black background. The clock at the top ticks, however everything else appears to be hung.

I'm relatively new to Linux and so I'm not sure how to get the installer going again so that it can right this issue.:confused:

Any and all help is greatly appreciated, although if you know of a fix, I'd recommend giving me the idiot's guide. :)

It seems like a lot of people are loosing power during these upgrades!! :p

Plug your computer into the internet using a wire, NOT WIRELESS.

Reboot your computer.. immediately after the BIOS screen ( the one that says DELL or HP or ACER ...etc. ) hold the SHIFT KEY. You should be at a grub menu.

Choose system rescue.

At this next screen, choose fix broken packages.

thelowerrhythm
October 27th, 2011, 01:56 AM
Tried it just now, but there's no rescue option. GRUB only offers:

Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.38-11-generic
(and also that with recovery mode),

then Previous Linux versions and two Memory tests.

thelowerrhythm
October 27th, 2011, 02:25 AM