PDA

View Full Version : anyone use emacs for programming?

cortman
October 24th, 2011, 10:47 PM
I'm new to it and it seems quite powerful, but takes a good bit of getting used to. Anyone still use it or write extensions for it?

Arndt
October 24th, 2011, 11:12 PM
I'm new to it and it seems quite powerful, but takes a good bit of getting used to. Anyone still use it or write extensions for it?

Sure.

matthew.ball
October 24th, 2011, 11:24 PM
Depending on what you're after, but still, more than likely (though I am not really a programmer, per se, I am fairly comfortable with emacs and do have some experience programming in it. I do however know that there are some emacs users around UF).

The default settings (in particular, the default key-bindings) are fairly archaic, but you can get rebind them to a more "reasonable" mapping relatively easily. If you don't like the emacs' default C-w/M-w and C-y cut/copy and paste combination (which seems to be a common problem) there are extensions such as CuaMode (http://www.emacswiki.org/emacs/CuaMode) which clean this up (moving cut to C-x, copy to C-c and paste to C-v, which is more "natural" these days). Really, you can change a lot of how emacs works by customising your .emacs file; there are a lot of extensions which come with emacs (the aforementioned CuaMode being one example, another very useful extension is ido (http://www.emacswiki.org/emacs/InteractivelyDoThings)) unfortunately, since it doesn't come with a preconfigured "dotfile", these extensions are not enabled by default, so unless you're prepared to do a fair bit of digging around (which can be very time-consuming) you might not notice all the extra power.

Then, what programming language are you interested in using? For a language like C, emacs is very well directed. For something like Java, many people would argue not (though, of course it can be done).