PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Roll back to previous version ?

Bruv
October 22nd, 2011, 01:40 PM
I took the easy route and upgraded from Natty to Oneiric and regret it.
I am no Ubuntu expert, I just want a system to work.
Oneiric keeps freezing, nothing helps other than pulling the plug and rebooting then everything is fine.
I can't find my way around it either, cant make shortcuts on the desktop and want to roll back to Natty.

Do I need to just reinstall from the disk I used to install it in the first place ?

haqking
October 22nd, 2011, 01:42 PM
I took the easy route and upgraded from Natty to Oneiric and regret it.
I am no Ubuntu expert, I just want a system to work.
Oneiric keeps freezing, nothing helps other than pulling the plug and rebooting then everything is fine.
I can't find my way around it either, cant make shortcuts on the desktop and want to roll back to Natty.

Do I need to just reinstall from the disk I used to install it in the first place ?

you can not downgrade or rollback, a fresh install is the best way to go unless you can solve your issues.

Make sure you have your data backed up, and before upgrading always try the new system from a live USB or similar, and when you re-install go to update manager and turn off the release upgrade option otherwise you will be back in 11.10 again ;-)

Good luck

subhadip_sky
October 22nd, 2011, 02:11 PM
You shouldn't have upgraded, upgrade gives all kind of headaches unless you know how to handle them right. A clean install is the best choice. I am using Oneiric too and I still think it's less buggy than Natty was. Do a clean install then try it.

Bruv
October 22nd, 2011, 02:20 PM
I have found by researching that even making desktop shortcuts is impossible or difficult in Oneiric, plus the irritation of everything being hidden most of the time, unless it's me being new to it, I find it less useable than Natty.