PDA

View Full Version : initial thoughts on Ubuntu/Linux and what need to be improved

buppelupp
June 2nd, 2006, 12:01 PM
I have never used Ubuntu/Linux before and just installed the Dapper Drake release. I'm impressed and have decided to migrate but there are a few things I'd like to say.

While setting it up there was a few things that put me off, which I am sure puts of alot of other people new to linux too. If Ubuntu is to be popularized for people migrating from Windows, or people who simply have no technical skills it needs some key "entertainment features" and it needs to *look good* from the very beginning if people are to be motivated or encouraged to explore Ubuntu any further.

So here are some suggestions that shouldn't be difficult to implement:

1. There should be a GUI at first startup to configure an automatic mount of NTFS volumes with read access if any are detected. (I don't want to start off my ubuntu experience by learning commands I've never heard of and editing config files that can potentially stop my whole system from working)

2. Automatix should either be added in the add/remove programs list as a standard or at least be made extremely available and simple to install. (I tried to install Mp3 support before I discovered Automatix and to someone new to Linux it is a complete nightmare, especially because the basic principles/workings are so different from Windows when it comes to installing stuff.)

3. The screen resolution dialogue should show resolutions in the list even if the monitor may not handle them.
It could then revert to standard res after 5 seconds or something if the user does not confirm that the new res is working.

Having to learn commands and editing system files within an OS one has never touched before to make the even the basics work is very discouraging.