PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Slow netbook with 11.10

smssms
October 21st, 2011, 06:33 PM
I don't expect to get much help as I am just too annoyed to give enough detail of the problemS or trawl the resources at the moment but:

I just upgraded to 11.10 and my Toshiba NB250 is hardly coping at all. It has gone sssllloooow, each click takes a second or two to happen, windows stutter open and shut, programs take seconds to open. I had it all FAST, nice and minimalist with 11.04. Despite getting the Gnome fallback desktop to make it look a bit better the performance has gone.

It also seems to have filled my (8GB) System file to the brim.

As you can tell, I'm new to Linux and annoyed! I had my netbook running really well on 11.04 and now it is just a pile of pants!

[rant over]

vajorie
October 21st, 2011, 07:20 PM
It also seems to have filled my (8GB) System file to the brim.

I wonder if the software cache is doing that. Try a

sudo apt-get clean

and see if that empties your hdd a bit. I don't think that would have an effect on performance (unless it is literally full), but still...

I also wonder if the symptoms you describe might be due to an overuse of memory... Though, it can actually be due to many other things, such as problems accessing the filesystem or even faulty drivers/modules in use or need to pass special options to the kernel or to specific modules and so on.

In terms of memory, take a look at what this code gives you

free -m

Its output is a bit strange, so here's an example:

total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 5844 2024 3820 0 185 734
-/+ buffers/cache: 1104 4740
Swap: 4766 0 4766