PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Samba Issues with 11.10

mshaffer
October 20th, 2011, 03:18 PM
Let me preface by saying that I've been using Linux in some way for the last 15 years...yes, I began tinkering when I was 10. The reason that I need to switch to Linux is that the small business is growing, and we're reaching the connection limit placed by Windows 7 Professional.

I've run into a problem that I've never seen before. I installed 11.10 on my small business server, it's overkill for its purpose.

It consists of:
i5 2500k
Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
2x4GB Corsair 1600MHz RAM
Onboard Video
Running a Raid10 (0+1) 4x 1TB WD Enterprise Drives
OCZ SSD for Boot Drive

I can install and update 11.10 without any issue save for a small video driver concern. Considering it's a file server, I'm not concerned with this.

I install samba with:

sudo apt-get install samba samba-common system-config-samba
I try and edit the samba share in two different ways. First by:

Alt+F2 then typing gksu system-config-samba
I'm prompted to enter my password, and nothing ever opens/happens.

I've also tried editing the conf file manually with:

Quote:
sudo gedit /etc/samba/smb.conf

Adding the lines:

[MyShare]
path = /media/samba/
browseable = yes
read only = no
guest ok = yes
force user = samba
force group = samba

I then try and connect with ip or computer name from either Windows XP or 7. This works perfectly fine on a Q9550 and Gigabyte EP45-UD3P with a dedicated Graphics card, I did it yesterday. But it does not work on the machine above. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

weedwacker
October 20th, 2011, 04:32 PM
I'm having similar problems with Samba. I got some part to work---sometimes. One of my computers (with 11.10 Ocelot installed) dual boots with Windows. This was a clean install of Ocelot.

Using Samba from this computer to connect to my other computer (dual boot with 11.04 Natty and 11.10 Ocelot) worked somewhat yesterday. Today, not.