PDA

View Full Version : How can normal users help in open source projects?

gui_kenzo
October 19th, 2011, 02:01 AM
Since I began to use Linux, I became a supporter of the open-source cause. I try to be as helpful as possible - sending error reports, bugs, suggesting features and ideas.
The problem is: I'm just a normal user. Not a programmer, not an engineer, not a web designer nor anything to do with computers. I'm just a law student - but I might as well be a accountant, biologist or musician. The important thing is that I don't have any profound knowledge on computers, like the overwhelming majority of computer users.
My question is: how can we, the normal users, help open-source projects in other ways then just doing the things that I already do?

Dave_L
October 19th, 2011, 02:10 AM
It sounds like you already do some testing.

Writing user documentation is another need. Developers generally don't like to do that.

sffvba[e0rt
October 19th, 2011, 02:11 AM
Some good suggestions can be found here (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ContributeToUbuntu).

cariboo
October 19th, 2011, 04:07 AM
There is also a great need for translation to other languages, if you aren't a native English speaker.

wolfen69
October 19th, 2011, 05:37 AM
Bug reporting is the easiest way for the average user to contribute. And believe it or not, whining on the message boards won't get it fixed. ;)

There are actually many ways people can contribute. Bug testing, bug testing, and more bug testing. But you can contribute in many other ways, just use your imagination. Did I mention BUG TESTING? I usually test ubuntu when there is about 7 weeks to go before release. It's mature enough to use, but needs a lot more input.

8_Bit
October 19th, 2011, 06:43 AM