PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Desktop Launcher

makitso
October 18th, 2011, 01:18 PM
OK, I am a bit new to Lubuntu and LXDE.

One of the things that irked me about Gnome 3 was them dropping the ability to put an icon on the desktop (not on the launcher or dock) and to be able to launch an app with it. In G2 you simply right clicked anywhere and you were good to go.

So, I tried xubuntu and xfwm4 has this capability. So on to lubuntu and openbox.

As stated before, I really like lubuntu. And as I test it I am finding that it really has most of the capabilities I need in a desktop.

My question is, am I missing something, does openbox provide the ability to create a launcher anywhere on the desktop outside of a panel? If not are there any add ons to do this?

Rob

Copper Bezel
October 18th, 2011, 03:02 PM
It's actually nothing to do with the window manager. Each environment has its own app managing the desktop, and that application draws the wallpaper and provides the desktop icons if present. In XFCE, that's xfdesktop. In Gnome 2, it's actually a special Nautilus window.

I don't know LXDE, but as I understand it, the desktop provides a right-click menu, but not icons? You'll need to figure out what application that is and replace it with one more to your tastes. Whether or not you can swap it out for something else (since LXDE's session launcher thingy is binary, rather than an editable script) is another matter.

As for what to run, you could just run xfdesktop in place of whatever LXDE is using. I know there's another, lighter-weight one I'm forgetting, but it's not coming to mind. Rox Filer can draw desktop wallpaper as well, if you want to try that.

SteveDee
October 19th, 2011, 06:43 AM
My question is...create a launcher anywhere on the desktop outside of a panel?
Rob

Open a terminal and type something like this:-

lxshortcut -i ~/Desktop/TestFM.desk

In the Application Shortcut dialog that opens, enter:-
Name: Test Launcher
Command: pcmanfm