PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 11.10 Upgrade - Plymouth Freeze with PAE kernel

dpiddyTx
October 18th, 2011, 01:57 AM
I kept experiencing issues with plymouth freezing after my upgrade to 11.10 from 11.04 but I finally got around it and just wanted to share my findings in the hope that others may find it useful to some extent...

I spent hours battling that stupid Dell efi boot loader only to get grub running and then plymouth freezing. I tried many many workarounds that google told me about and none of them worked. It turns out that my default linux kernel in grub is a 'pae' version. I'm not a linux expert but I can read, and I know my previous release had an option to enable 'pae' in the nvidia-settings so I'm guessing my laptop supported it but I never specifically enabled it. My nvidia-settings in 11.10 do not have a pae option so I have to guess there's some compatibility issue somewhere. So I'm not sure why the pae kernel was chosen during the upgrade but if I just wait for grub to load, choose 'previous versions' and choose my latest non-pae 3.0 kernel release then it boots up fine on 11.10.

#sudo grub-set-default ...
Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.38-11-generic
Ubuntu, with Linux 2.6.38-11-generic (recovery mode)
Ubuntu, with Linux 3.0.0-12-generic
Ubuntu, with Linux 3.0.0-12-generic (recovery mode)
Ubuntu, with Linux 3.0.0-12-generic-pae
Ubuntu, with Linux 3.0.0-12-generic-pae (recovery mode)

grub-set-default (GRUB) 1.99-12ubuntu5
Linux 3.0.0-12-generic #20-Ubuntu SMP x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

And in case your wondering Dell's efi boot loader is awful, I now hate it with a passion deeper than the fiery 7th layer of hell. (It's a work laptop, windows installed first, I can't change it, procedural politics bs etc.)

A few things still bother me that I'd love to find some answers for though ...