PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to reinstall Ubuntu 10.10

wandiligong
October 16th, 2011, 01:21 AM
I am a complete Linux novice
PC 2.6 GHz processor 2 GB RAM two physical HDD 80 GB each running Win 7 successfully
Trying to install Ububtu 10.10
Ran live disc and seemed to operate OK
Chose option to install “Alongside existing”
Took a long time to install but seemed initially to be OK. But was unstable in for instance running RythmBox when an audio disc was inserted – sometimes launch sometimes not.
Then discovered that the dual boot initial screen did not work – unable to move highlighting to boot with Win 7 (or anything elese) keyboard would not move highlighted line. After 10 secs countdown booted to Ubuntu. However after a couple of such boots system now hangs on GRUB screen – count down now disappeared.
I can still open Ubuntu with live DVD and think that perhaps if I reinstalled it might fix problem. But just how to reinstall is confusing me.
Using GParted I get the following:-
/dev/sda1 71.45 GB
/dev/sda1 ext 4 71.45 GB 3.4GB used 68.04GB unused Flag – boot
/dev sda2 extended 3 GB
/dev/sda5 linux-swap 3 GB
/dev sdb1 74.52GB
/dev/sdb1 ntfs 74.5GB 13 GB used 61GB unused Flag – BOOT
Unallocated 10.3GB

If I use live DVD and select install I eventually get to Allocate drive space screen
If I select “Alongside” option it shows for sda a graphic with Ubuntu 11.10 /dev/sda1 (ext 4) 38.8GB and Ubuntu /dev/sda2 (ext4) 37.9GB
Selecting sdb (from this allocate drive space screen) I get a graphic showing Win NT/2000/XP (loader) /dev/sdb1 (ntfs) 45.7GB and Ubuntu /dev/sdb2 (ext 4) 34.3GB
In either of these screens if I select Install Now I get a Write previous changes to disc and continue? Message which says “Before I can select a new partition size ….etc”