PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Tutorial on dual booting Windows AFTER Linux is installed first...

travlemon
October 16th, 2011, 12:59 AM
Hello!

Lately I've been making tutorials for what I feel to be common Linux problems that can be easily solved, but may be difficult for a new user to find the right instructions. I'm still quite new to Linux, but I've been learning a lot, just by being a user that has to mess with things all the time. I say that because it's important to understand that I am natively a Windows expert, not a Linux expert, and to keep that in mind when viewing my tutorials.

ANYWAY, there is what seems to be a popular tutorial out on the internet that addresses the topic of: Dual booting Windows XP with Linux on a computer where XP is already installed. The article is located here: http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_linux_and_windows_xp_linux_instal led_first.htm

I found a way to accomplish this that's incredibly easy, easier than the confusing things I read in this article. The easy parts are resizing partitions to make space for XP as necessary.

The harder part is reinstalling Grub. Also, the article mentions that because the XP installation recognizes the first existing Linux paritition as drive C:, that XP will have to call its own partition drive D: (or whatever drive letter is available, because the Linux partition now exists as drive C:).

I found incredibly easy ways to take care of these:

1. The Drive C: issue: When you're resizing partitions to make unallocated space for XP, simply create an NTFS partition where you'd want XP installed. In the XP installation screen, it'll see it as drive C:. Simple!! I'd recommend this over letting XP setup drive D: as the system drive.