PDA

View Full Version : Basic python question

WinterMadness
October 16th, 2011, 12:34 AM
this has got me pretty confused.

im looking at code here, and im tryng to translate it to another language and i cant figure out what this syntax means.

if not (self.neighbor.advance() == True

self is like this
neighbor is a variable used in the constructor as far as I can tell, and advance is a function that gets recursed.

How on earth can a variable like neighbor use advance() like that, what does it even mean?

Bachstelze
October 16th, 2011, 12:49 AM
Looks like you are not familiar with object-oriented programming. Read up on it.

WinterMadness
October 16th, 2011, 12:58 AM
No, im familiar with OOP. I am not familiar with how a variable can use a function in that way. Ive never seen it done that way, ive been programming for a few years.

if I were to take a variable of the type int and use a dot after it, I get functions associated with the int type, not functions that are part of the current class. Same concept. I want to know what python is actually doing here. Please dont give dismissive answers. They dont help anyone, ever.

Keep in mind advance() is a function IN THE CLASS from THAT code, hence the "recursion" I talked about.

Bachstelze
October 16th, 2011, 01:06 AM
Show the code then, because what you say is not very clear...

WinterMadness
October 16th, 2011, 01:14 AM
Constructor of the class(I assume):

def __init__(self, col, neigh):
self.row = 1
self.column = col
self.neighbor = neigh

Code that exists in the class

def advance(self):
# moves queen one row ahead, or fails and resets
if self.row < numcolumns:
self.row = self.row + 1
return self.findSolution()

if not (self.neighbor.advance() == True):
return False

Where the constructor code is, is in fact the first time the term neighbor comes up. the self.neighbor.advance() is probably some kind of short hand(im guessing). But im not familiar with python much at all.

Bachstelze
October 16th, 2011, 01:41 AM