PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] DNS not resolving, Ubuntu 10.04 VmWare Player 4.0

PhoenixKsE
October 15th, 2011, 12:27 AM
Hello,

I am new to Linux and these forums, but I like to think I'm fairly good with computers in general. Anyway, I made an Ubuntu 10.04 VM using VMWare 4.0 (most recent version), and I can connect to the network just fine.

I am able to ping my windows box (which the vm is on) as well as the gateway from the VM, and visa-versa. I am also able to ping ip addresses outside of my network (i.e. google's ip address, newegg's ip address, etc.). I am unable to ping any server names, however, such as google.com or newegg.com.

Using NAT as the network interface for the VM works just fine, but that uses my windows IP to connect, rather than being a separate host altogether. I would rather use bridged, which connects it directly to the physical network with its own IP and MAC and such.

I have tried editing the /etc/resolv.conf to include both the dns server in my windows' ipconfig /all as well as the two dns servers my router lists in its settings -- no go.

I've also tried using a static IP by editing /etc/network/interfaces -- no go.

Any help would be awesome with this. It is a wired connection, the mac is set correctly, the IPs are set how I want them, just no DNS resolution.

~PhoenixKsE

PhoenixKsE
October 17th, 2011, 09:25 PM
Bump.

jonobr
October 18th, 2011, 12:47 AM
If its not too confidential or exposing anything private on your network,
could you spot results for /etc/resolv.conf

Could you try a trace also?
in a terminal

sudo tcpdump -vvv -s 1600 -i any port 53

Then ping google.com in another window

PhoenixKsE
October 20th, 2011, 07:44 AM
Sorry it's been so long. I'm booting up my Linux VM right now.

Okay, I grabbed some results for you.

The resolv.conf stuff:

When i have it set to automatic

# Generated by NetworkManager
nameserver 192.168.42.87

When i set it to manual and use the DNS servers my router says it is using