PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I just upgraded to 11.10 and can't get past the login screen.



OsakaWilson
October 14th, 2011, 06:48 AM
It lists my username along with 'Guest session' and 'Other', but when I select it and put in my password, the screens go black for a moment, then return to the login screen as if nothing happened.

However, if I put in the wrong password, I get the usual "Invalid Password" message. This means that it recognizes that my password is correct, but fails to take me to the desktop.

I have no idea if this is relevant, but during upgrade, I got a screen called something like "Defconf in Ubuntu". It wanted me to put a password in twice (to create a password, maybe). It mentioned something about "Tripwire". I attempted to put in a password several times, but it failed, so selected skipping that step. It told me I could do it later. Like I say, not sure if it is relevant.

I'm on 64 bit upgrading from 11.04 and had at least three successful pushbutton upgrades previously, it that helps.

garvinrick4
October 14th, 2011, 06:54 AM
Can you Hit"
ctrl/alt/F1
Log in
password

sudo dpkg-reconfigure lightdmDoes that give you both gdm and lightdm?
If so choose lightdm with arrows enter and or tab to toggle with I believe.

sudo stop gdm
sudo start lightdmIf needed

sudo /etc/init.d/lightdm restart###This above is just incase gdm is still present. You are getting to a log in screen so might not be problem but worth looking at since old upgraded system.

OsakaWilson
October 14th, 2011, 07:40 AM
Thanks. I did the ctrl/alt/F1 then logged in. I did the "sudo dpkg-reconfigure lightdm" command and it gave me both the gdm and lightdm as options. I chose the lightdm.

I tried to input the "sudo stop gdm" command, but it said "stop: Unknown instance:" The same for "sudo start lightdm"

(I went back to the login GUI and tried again with no luck.)

I noticed that the GUI login gives me the option of <my initials>, but not <my name>, however the login after the ctrl/alt/F1 would not accept <my initials>, but did login successfully using <my name> . Of course, I tried going back to the login GUI and used <my name> to log in, but it also failed.

I'm pretty sure that <my name> shows up in the command line and definitely I see it in the file location trees. And it allows me to login to ctrl/alt/F1, but not the GUI when I select "other" then input <my name> and password. Sorry if this is not useful info.

kchida
October 14th, 2011, 07:40 AM
I have no idea if this is relevant, but during upgrade, I got a screen called something like "Defconf in Ubuntu". It wanted me to put a password in twice (to create a password, maybe). It mentioned something about "Tripwire". I attempted to put in a password several times, but it failed, so selected skipping that step. It told me I could do it later. Like I say, not sure if it is relevant.

I'm getting the same problem, but I didn't have the "Defconf in Ubuntu" thing that you described.

OsakaWilson
October 14th, 2011, 07:48 AM
Garvinrick4 didn't mention the "tripwire" thing, so I suspect that is irrelevant.

Out of curiosity, is the login name on your login GUI the same as what you use normally in your system?

garvinrick4
October 14th, 2011, 08:04 AM
I noticed that the GUI login gives me the option of <my initials>, but not <my name>, however the login after the ctrl/alt/F1 would not accept <my initials>, but did login successfully using <my name> . Of course, I tried going back to the login GUI and used <my name> to log in, but it also failed.

Your login screen will give you what you said as your Name at install. (If I chose Rick Garvin at install would have made login rick and at login screen Rick Garvin)
If you can get to the tty as you say. ctrl/alt/F1 then login and password:
Try installing aptitude and see if you have both gdm and lightdm installed.
We want to use lightdm in oneiric 11.10, gdm was phased out after 11.04

sudo apt-get install aptitude
aptitude show gdm
aptitude show lightdmIf gdm is still installed

sudo apt-get purge gdm
sudo apt-get install --reinstall lightdm
sudo start lightdmif needed

sudo /etc/init.d/lightdm restart##Or you can use my previous post to choose lightdm in reconfigure command.

###This above is just incase gdm is still present. You are getting to a log in screen so might not be problem but worth looking at since old upgraded system.

grim2
October 14th, 2011, 08:38 AM
Ok. I tried all that was listed and I still have the problem. In another thread I mentioned that I have two accounts on this machine. The admin account is the one that gets used. I had it set up to use Gnome rather than Unity. It's broken. The other account, standard user, had Unity as an interface. It's fine.

I'm not sure if that helps. I certainly appreciate yours.

g2

savvar
October 14th, 2011, 09:58 AM
Your login screen will give you what you said as your Name at install. (If I chose Rick Garvin at install would have made login rick and at login screen Rick Garvin)
If you can get to the tty as you say. ctrl/alt/F1 then login and password:
Try installing aptitude and see if you have both gdm and lightdm installed.
We want to use lightdm in oneiric 11.10, gdm was phased out after 11.04

sudo apt-get install aptitude
aptitude show gdm
aptitude show lightdmIf gdm is still installed

sudo apt-get purge gdm
sudo apt-get install --reinstall lightdm
sudo start lightdmif needed

sudo /etc/init.d/lightdm restart##Or you can use my previous post to choose lightdm in reconfigure command.

###This above is just incase gdm is still present. You are getting to a log in screen so might not be problem but worth looking at since old upgraded system.

tried that but still same login issue.

another think i noticed is that on login screen shutdown/restart will not work also. dont know if thats helpful

uk144
October 14th, 2011, 10:18 AM
I found that the shutdown failed in the login screen too ( in addition to my password not working)

savvar
October 14th, 2011, 10:45 AM
problem is only with my existing login. created new user with terminal and it works fine (the new user)

uk144
October 14th, 2011, 10:51 AM
Can you let me know how to do it in console . can you ascribe admin access to this?

savvar
October 14th, 2011, 10:54 AM
Can you let me know how to do it in console . can you ascribe admin access to this?

"adduser newuser" command will create a new general user called "newuser" on your system

savvar
October 14th, 2011, 11:01 AM
it seems that it logins the user in when i type the passw but still brings me back to login screen.

maybe its because i was using different theme on that user?


pls can an1 help


any ways to bring default theme back with terminal?

thnx

zebrattt
October 14th, 2011, 11:39 AM
problem is only with my existing login. created new user with terminal and it works fine (the new user)

I have the same problem. after reading your description, I tried to log in using guest, it works.

but we still need to fix the problem. I don't want to create a new user.

OsakaWilson
October 14th, 2011, 11:39 AM
I tried everything that Garvinrick4 suggested and it didn't work.

Like everyone else, my Shutdown/Restart on the login screen is also not working.

I could login as a guest, but the point is accessing the stuff on my account and being able to make system changes.

23dornot23d
October 14th, 2011, 11:48 AM
Check out the login problems ...... one is marked as solvedd in my list below

you may be having the same problem ......

Failure Graphics - Lightdm
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859133
Login Problem
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859288
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859349
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859233 >>> SOLVED
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373)

uk144
October 14th, 2011, 12:06 PM
Check out the login problems ...... one is marked as solvedd in my list below

you may be having the same problem ......

Failure Graphics - Lightdm
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859133
Login Problem
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859288
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859349
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859233 >>> SOLVED
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373)
This one worked for me

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859233 >>> SOLVED

rm .Xauthority

thanks

zebrattt
October 14th, 2011, 12:06 PM
Check out the login problems ...... one is marked as solvedd in my list below

you may be having the same problem ......

Failure Graphics - Lightdm
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859133
Login Problem
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859288
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859349
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859233 >>> SOLVED
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373)

Thank u! my problem is fixed!

OsakaWilson
October 14th, 2011, 12:50 PM
This is the meat of the thread that fixed it. I logged in fine after this.


Press Ctrl+Alt+F1 when you're on login screen. Then login under your profile. The default directory will be your home directory. Then simply do:
Code:

sudo rm .Xauthority

Code:

sudo shutdown -r now

Then you should be able to login under your profile.

blackknight95857669
October 14th, 2011, 03:10 PM
This is the meat of the thread that fixed it. I logged in fine after this.

I've tried this 10 times. Each time I reboot I get the same result: can't get past login.

Trying to figure what more I need to do, if there's a KDE thing I have left over that's causing the issue or some other "old" package that's getting in my way. Every time I reboot the .Xauthority has returned and is owned by root. I even changed the ownership and it still won't let me login to my original account.

Just this lame guest acct :-?#-o

Also, opening the Update Manager, I get the "Partial Upgrade" warning, but when I click it, it shuts down the Manager. Guessing that's due to not being in an admin account.

savvar
October 14th, 2011, 04:25 PM
This one worked for me

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859233 >>> SOLVED

rm .Xauthority

thanks


for me 2. now all ok thnx guys

suffah
October 15th, 2011, 01:14 AM
I hit this issue upgrading from 11.04 to 11.10 64 bit.

My fix is different than the rest.

I realized I didn't have an .Xauthority folder in my home directory, so I tried to create one. It said I didn't have permission. :P

It turns out that somehow my home folder was now owned by a user "1016" instead of my user "suffah", but all the recursive files and folders were still owned by "suffah".

I used "sudo chown suffah:suffah /home/suffah" which did the trick.

grim2
October 15th, 2011, 02:29 AM
All. Removing .Xauthority worked for me too.

Thanks for your help.

g2

dldeskins
October 15th, 2011, 05:11 AM
Check out the login problems ...... one is marked as solvedd in my list below

you may be having the same problem ......

Failure Graphics - Lightdm
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859133
Login Problem
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859288
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859349
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859233 >>> SOLVED
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373 (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859373)


the one marked "solved" worked for me also... delete the .Xauthority file and reboot.

edgardol
October 15th, 2011, 05:36 PM
Deleting .Xauthority and rebooting didn't work for me either.
Details posted here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1859233&page=2

dbzkid
October 17th, 2011, 02:51 PM
What I did was

Alt + F2
login
sudo apt-get purge gdm
sudo chmod 777 .Xauthority
That allowed me to login in using my regular profile.
Hope this helps

Morce
October 28th, 2011, 03:31 PM
Hi. I have tested all the options available in this thread and others, so far nothing as solved the problem.
Removed the Xauthority and after reboot (several) it does not reappear again (can't delete it again) or start the session. I say it does not reappear because I have read, in other threads, that it as reappeared after reboot.
I have the ubuntu 11.10 64b, at login I can't login with any account (mine, guest or other) but password is correct it just resets to login screen. I have access to tty.

Does anyone know how to solve this???

ps: Ubuntu works perfect as long as you don't do updates, almost every time I update, I have to come to ubuntu forums for problem solving. Someone always knows the answer and that is very helpful.

Thank you.