PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Live CD crashes

rplantz
October 14th, 2011, 06:41 AM
I burned an ubuntu-11.10-desktop-amd64 CD and it crashes. The system boot up, but then I sit there and watch all sorts of bizarre things get written across the top and left side of the screen. I can move the mouse point, but clicking has no effect. This does not give me great confidence that I could use the live CD to fix things if something goes wrong with the installation.

I've been burning my own Ubuntu CDs for several years, and this is the first one that has been "delivered" broken.

garvinrick4
October 14th, 2011, 07:04 AM
I've been burning my own Ubuntu CDs for several years, and this is the first one that has been "delivered" broken.
You download an iso file and Burn your own disk, at times you just get a bad burn or a bad
download. Do it over again. Not something that is delivered so is not checked for errors.
Use torrent download is faster if you choose to.

Tanargbob
October 14th, 2011, 09:03 AM
I burned an ubuntu-11.10-desktop-amd64 CD and it crashes. The system boot up, but then I sit there and watch all sorts of bizarre things get written across the top and left side of the screen. I can move the mouse point, but clicking has no effect. This does not give me great confidence that I could use the live CD to fix things if something goes wrong with the installation.

I am getting exactly the same as you do. I only wanted to see if 11.10 would let my PC run Unity as 11.04 never has.
Guess I will stick with 11.04 then.

rplantz
October 14th, 2011, 05:21 PM
I am getting exactly the same as you do. I only wanted to see if 11.10 would let my PC run Unity as 11.04 never has.
Guess I will stick with 11.04 then.

A friend has burned another copy for me on his computer. I'm picking it up later today. I'll let you know how that copy works.

rplantz
October 14th, 2011, 10:54 PM