PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Question on installing xfce desktop

DFretz
October 13th, 2011, 12:52 PM
I am new to Ubuntu. I want to try Xfce and have read in this forum that you can install as many desktop environments as you like and switch between them. In the Synaptic Package Manager, when I mark the package "xubuntu-desktop" for installation, it tells me that it will UNinstall package "ubuntu-desktop", which doesn't sound like such a good idea. What am I doing wrong if I want both?

thatguruguy
October 13th, 2011, 12:58 PM
You don't need to install the xubuntu-desktop, which will replace your current desktop. Just look for the xfce4 package and install it.

TREESofRIGHTEOUSNESS
October 13th, 2011, 01:02 PM
that is ok.... you want xubuntu-desktop instead of ubuntu-desktop.
However you can just install the Xfce, and switch to that window manager in youre Login screeen

install xfce just run

sudo apt-get install xfce4

That will be different than Xubuntu, but you will have the full Xfce desktop environment.
I hope that helps

westie457
October 13th, 2011, 01:03 PM
Hi to answer your question "What am I doing wrong?" absolutely nothing. They are both 'Meta' packages (which is to say like a box) that holds all the necessary packages to be installed. They can be removed without losing anything.

DFretz
October 13th, 2011, 02:00 PM
Thank you everyone for your replies. I didn't realize that xubuntu-desktop and xfce were actually different installs. If I just install xfce, does that mean it runs slower than if I install the xubuntu-desktop, because it is running on top of the Unity desktop? I'm just trying to get something that I hope will be more responsive than the Unity desktop that came by default with Ubuntu 11.04, without having to reinstall the existing apps that I use. Thanks!

3Miro
October 13th, 2011, 04:45 PM
If anything, xfce4 will be faster than Xubuntu.