PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installing ubuntu in vista problems

katya_sehgal
October 12th, 2011, 09:36 AM
I am very new to ubuntu.
Either through wubi or through cd installation, I am unable to see my existing vista partitions. I don't get the option that lets me install 'alongside vista'.
while installing ubuntu, there was a 'prefix' error.
I had partitioned hard drive using acronis.
How do I get vista and ubuntu working together?

I am not used to terminal commands. And I am eagerly looking forward to trying out openshot editor.
Since I am in need, I have not extensively checked the internet.

Regards.

mastablasta
October 12th, 2011, 12:06 PM
i am not sure this has anything to do with acronis, but it is better to just use native windows disk manager for creating partitions.

now the important thing here is porbably how many partitions you have and what type are the partitions. does the linux see windows drive if you boot into live session ("try it" option)?

also when booting live session, you can run gparted from terminal to see which disk the Ubuntu actually sees..

katya_sehgal
October 12th, 2011, 12:13 PM
using acronis, I divided C into C and F. Windows is in C. My other data is in F. D is for recovery as designed by Vista.

i get 3 options with ubuntu. i chose the 'try demo' one. I got into Ubuntu, checked gparted. it does not show windows. i clicked on install ubuntu. it gave me 2 option. Erase disk and install and 'try something else'. When I click try something else it does not show windows in the disk partition option.

any other way to see?

katya_sehgal
October 12th, 2011, 01:40 PM
i'd be glad to have the problem solved. would be installing ubuntu for 2 people more.
I, especially, am in a hurry to try it.

Quackers
October 12th, 2011, 02:02 PM
Please boot from the Ubuntu live cd/usb and select "try Ubuntu".
When the desktop loads please open up a terminal and post the output of this command.
sudo fdisk -lu

katya_sehgal