PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error message while trying to install

ijerda
October 10th, 2011, 01:25 AM
I'm very new to Ubuntu Linux and am having trouble installing a writing aid called Scrivener. It's a beta version, but I've spent hours researching how to install .tgz files and have tried everything and have had no success. I've used terminal and this is the error message I've gotten:

jayda@jayda-ubuntu:~/Downloads$ sudo unzip -d /tmp Scrivener-035.tgz
Archive: Scrivener-035.tgz
End-of-central-directory signature not found. Either this file is not
a zipfile, or it constitutes one disk of a multi-part archive. In the
latter case the central directory and zipfile comment will be found on
the last disk(s) of this archive.
unzip: cannot find zipfile directory in one of Scrivener-035.tgz or
Scrivener-035.tgz.zip, and cannot find Scrivener-035.tgz.ZIP, period.

It isn't a zipfile, nor does it constitute one disk of a multi-part archive. It's a .tgz file. I just need to know if there's something I can do, or if I just shouldn't waste my time trying to install it anymore.

Thanks for the help!

Pynalysis
October 10th, 2011, 02:03 AM
I'm very new to Ubuntu Linux and am having trouble installing a writing aid called Scrivener. It's a beta version, but I've spent hours researching how to install .tgz files and have tried everything and have had no success. I've used terminal and this is the error message I've gotten:

jayda@jayda-ubuntu:~/Downloads$ sudo unzip -d /tmp Scrivener-035.tgz
Archive: Scrivener-035.tgz
End-of-central-directory signature not found. Either this file is not
a zipfile, or it constitutes one disk of a multi-part archive. In the
latter case the central directory and zipfile comment will be found on
the last disk(s) of this archive.
unzip: cannot find zipfile directory in one of Scrivener-035.tgz or
Scrivener-035.tgz.zip, and cannot find Scrivener-035.tgz.ZIP, period.