PDA

View Full Version : Linux: Game Development.

timtom59
October 9th, 2011, 10:28 AM
Hi all,

I was wondering if I could develop games for linux to make a living. I am budding entreprenuer and would love to create open-source games to sell. Now if I am correct it is possible to sell your open-source software as long as you provide source code.

I am a Python programmer and will certainly be using Blender to create a couple of games. I am thinking of creating a different game for each genre, and they are as follows:

- A first person shooter (Like Combat Arms for windows.)
- A racing game.
- A Role Playing Game.
- A Real Time Strategy.
- And finally a Indie Game.

I plan to have all these games multi-player, I know this will be difficult to code with python but I think I'm up for a challenge! :D

Anyways the reason I have posted this is to get your opinion on what I'm doing! So please leave suggestions and if anyone would like to help leave a PM. :)

phibxr
October 9th, 2011, 10:48 AM
Hi all,

I was wondering if I could develop games for linux to make a living. I am budding entreprenuer and would love to create open-source games to sell. Now if I am correct it is possible to sell your open-source software as long as you provide source code.

I am a Python programmer and will certainly be using Blender to create a couple of games. I am thinking of creating a different game for each genre, and they are as follows:

- A racing game.
- A Role Playing Game.
- A Real Time Strategy.

I plan to have all these games multi-player, I know this will be difficult to code with python but I think I'm up for a challenge! :D

Anyways the reason I have posted this is to get your opinion on what I'm doing! So please leave suggestions and if anyone would like to help leave a PM. :)

Well, the definition for 'making a living' is selling something for a profit, and being able to pay your bills from the earnings.