PDA

View Full Version : NGOs Ubuntu/Linux

bonfire89
October 8th, 2011, 08:58 PM
Hi there,

I'm currently involved a project where I am studying an NGO whose purpose is to improve the nutrition of the worlds poor. I'm conducting an industry analysis which includes how Information Technology is used in the industry.

These uses could include things like: managing donations, managing project contracts, responding to RFPs, email, communications, tracking, supply chain management and more.

I just finished reading up on all the good things Microsoft can do for NGOs but I'd much rather finish this project by recommending something from the open-source world rather than something from Microsoft.

If anyone can hook me up with some links about using Ubuntu or Linux to help NGOs it would be a big help.

Preferably these links should be about the "as-is" state since I am at the moment conducting an industry analysis.

Many Thanks!

earthpigg
October 8th, 2011, 09:15 PM
Wikimedia Foundation is an NGO non-profit: http://www.canonical.com/about-canonical/resources/case-studies/wikimedia-chooses-ubuntu-all-its-servers

You'd need to get more specific about your NGO for really specific answers.

Some NGO non-profits are structured like a for-profit enterprise with "Community Outreach" and "Public Relations" replacing "Marketing" and everything else remaining nearly identical, while some aren't.

bonfire89
October 8th, 2011, 10:04 PM
I'm slightly limited in terms of confidentiality, (yes I know it is a non-profit but I'm airing on the side of caution) so I have to stay a bit general.

But, this organization helps people in local communities better grow food and partners with manufactures to manufacture food with the processes they develop and then further partners with others to distribute the food. This organization has offices all over the world, 1st world and 3rd world.