PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I find and activate my external hard drive?

ec1955
October 6th, 2011, 10:00 PM
I am new to linux, so I don't know the lingo or my way around to find things.
I have a 1tb western digital ext hdd on my computer but it doesn't seem to be working.
where do i find it on linux and how, if needed, do I get it working?

Thanks
Ernest

tgalati4
October 6th, 2011, 10:04 PM
Plug in the drive, open a terminal and paste the following to this thread:

sudo fdisk -l (That's a lower case "l" which stands for list drives.)

and

dmesg | tail -40

ec1955
October 7th, 2011, 01:50 AM
Sorry for sounding stupid, but do you mean 'search bar' for terminal?
If so, I open one, pasted code and found nothing.
It found my printer, scanner, and other usb device by itself, but not my hdd.

Can you be a little more more specific for me?
Thanks
Ernest

tgalati4
October 7th, 2011, 04:10 AM
Right Mouse Click on the desktop background--"Open Terminal"

or Accessories-->Terminal in the menu.

Cut and paste the commands and cut and paste the output into this thread.

Do you not see your hard disk when you open the folder "Computer"?

Rasa1111
October 7th, 2011, 04:25 AM
I also have a 1TB WD external drive..
and i just plug it in, and the folder opens right up, and shows the drive on my desktop.
(or in Unity now).

Just like any other thumbdrive or anything else.
Not sure what's up on your end.
I have a few external drives..
and all work the exact same. Always have.

good luck

ec1955
October 11th, 2011, 05:46 AM
Well, when I look into FILE SYSTEM -DEVICE -DISK -by -ID I find something there - but I don't know to get it to open - it worked fine on my other computer
Thanks

proxy.qtz
October 11th, 2011, 03:35 PM
make sure it's plugged in and turned on, first. make sure the cable connecting it works, and that you can connect stuff to the port it's connected to. also, you could try looking for it in nautilus.

wkulecz
October 11th, 2011, 03:41 PM