PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wired internet does not connect.

Arcx500
October 6th, 2011, 08:09 PM
I've retired from playing MMO's so I wanted to move from Windows to Ubuntu permanently.

Problem is after I did, I was unable to connect to the internet at all.
I'm not sure if reinstalling may solve the problem but I rather not take the chance of losing that much time.

However, on this very same computer, I once installed Ubuntu next to Windows and had no problem with it whatsoever.

I currently am back on Windows 7 and really want to move to Ubuntu.

Keep in mind as I'm a beginner when it comes to Ubuntu so treat me as if I have never heard of ubuntu.
I only know a little bit about a terminal where commands should be entered and did that a bit.
In any case, any help would be greatly appreciated on how to solve this.

viperdvman
October 6th, 2011, 08:29 PM
Although it's automatic most of the time, sometimes you have to click on the network icon in your system tray (next to your clock in Ubuntu) and select Wired Ethernet, eth0, whatever your Wired Ethernet is. At least it's supposed to be automatic during the Ubuntu Install process. What kind of network adapter does your computer use?

Is Ubuntu being installed by Wubi, or is it being installed on its own partition in a dual-boot environment? Or are you installing it as a stand alone OS?

Arcx500
October 6th, 2011, 08:32 PM
Although it's automatic most of the time, sometimes you have to click on the network icon in your system tray (next to your clock in Ubuntu) and select Wired Ethernet, eth0, whatever your Wired Ethernet is. At least it's supposed to be automatic during the Ubuntu Install process. What kind of network adapter does your computer use?

Is Ubuntu being installed by Wubi, or is it being installed on its own partition in a dual-boot environment? Or are you installing it as a stand alone OS?