PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Should I upgrade and How do I do it???

JoshuaMiller0
October 6th, 2011, 05:39 AM
I have recently been thinking of upgrading Ubuntu 10.04 to Ubuntu 10.10. I refuse to use 11.04 as it is the newest version and therefore probably the buggiest and least stable.

From what I have heard 10.10 is better and I will go with that unless I am convinced otherwise.

But the main reason for this thread was I am unsure how to install 10.10 running off a 10.04.

dino99
October 6th, 2011, 07:32 AM
sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

change "lucid" by "maverick"

then update, upgrade, that it :)

mastablasta
October 6th, 2011, 09:04 AM
in software manager click upgrade. it will upgrade to 10.10.

JoshuaMiller0
October 6th, 2011, 09:06 AM
change "lucid" by "maverick"

I do not understand.

Do you mean change "lucid" to "maverick"?

If not what did you mean?

If so which lucid? there are hundreds! all of them?
One of them?

PS. I am very new to customizing things on Ubuntu and you must be very clear and specific for me to make sense of things and do them correctly.

JoshuaMiller0
October 6th, 2011, 09:11 AM
in software manager click upgrade. it will upgrade to 10.10.

I was told specifically not to do it this way as I was told "It is not a good way to do it"

lcman
October 6th, 2011, 09:11 AM
I have recently been thinking of upgrading Ubuntu 10.04 to Ubuntu 10.10. I refuse to use 11.04 as it is the newest version and therefore probably the buggiest and least stable.

From what I have heard 10.10 is better and I will go with that unless I am convinced otherwise.

But the main reason for this thread was I am unsure how to install 10.10 running off a 10.04.

It's not buggy at all and you should use it instead of 10.10 because the latest stable version is always best. Maybe you won't like Unity but hey, you can choose classic mode anytime!

Or do not upgrade at all! 10.04 is LTS therefore much better than 10.10.