PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu installer and gparted(on live disc) do not see hard drive partition table

instantepiphany
October 4th, 2011, 10:20 AM
Hi all,

I am by no means a linux newbie, I have been using various distros for several years. I have just built a new computer with rendering in mind,(6-core cpu etc) and I cannot for the life of me install ubuntu 11.04 on it.

I have already installed win7, and I cannot lose the data on it and do not have a backup drive handy.

When I boot into the ubuntu live cd and start the installer, it gets to the partitioning stage and says something like "No operating system detected" and gives me the option to wipe the disk and install ubuntu or to manually create partitions. I tried going the manual option, but it didn't show any of my win7 partitions(100mb system partition, 1.8tb C: drive).
I found something on the web about win7 not partitioning properly, and sometimes the end partition was allocated one more sector than was on the drive. Sure enough, fdisk showed that the last partition ended on a sector that didn't exist.

e.g this is a flash drives output

Disk /dev/sde: 2038 MB, 2038431744 bytes
251 heads, 62 sectors/track, 255 cylinders, total 3981312 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc3072e18

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sde1 * 64 3981311 1990624 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
You can see that sde1 ends on 3981311, and there are 3981312 total sectors.
I cannot remember the number for my harddrive, but the partition ended on one more than the number of total sectors, eg 4581235 total sectors, and the partition ended on 4581236.

Could someone help me solve this without reinstalling win7 or losing data?

Thanks

WasMeHere
October 4th, 2011, 11:06 AM
Hi all,