PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] noob help w/ bios update - Shuttle X50V2 Plus

spudchick
October 1st, 2011, 02:38 PM
Hey all,

I have some but not much experience with Ubuntu (much more with Win installation/upgrades). I've never had a hardware issue the couple of times I've installed Ubuntu (mostly on rehabbed systems I've tested and then given away).

Have a Shuttle X50V2 Plus, a touchscreen all-in-one with no optical drive. (It's going to get Eldy, for my mother-in-law.) Used Netbootin to install ubuntu-11.04-desktop-i386.iso, went fine, but got the "wireless is disabled by hardware switch" issue when I tried to connect. Just trying to update the bios right now, as by some reports it may help fix the wireless.

So, I unzip the Shuttle bios update, and it's got two folders, DOS and WIN. No download option for an ISO or instructions on making one on the Shuttle site. I'm guessing I need to use the bios file in the DOS folder, but how?

Contents of DOS folder:

AFUDOS.exe
FLASH.BAT
X50V3000.105

Thanks in advance,

spud

Frogs Hair
October 1st, 2011, 03:12 PM
I have an Asus board that I just updated and they use three methods that I know of depending on the board . AFUDOS , Easy Flash , and another Windows software based updater . My board uses Easy Flash and I know that from the manual .

In my case I downloaded and extracted the bios , saved it to my external floppy which I plugged in prior to boot . I entered the bios screen at boot and followed the instructions in my manual . You could probably do something similar with a USB but you really need specific instructions for your computer .

spudchick
October 1st, 2011, 04:44 PM
Thanks Frogs Hair.