PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] can't install ubuntu 11.04

anneblecforez
September 30th, 2011, 05:21 AM
hi, im quite new to ubuntu...i want to install natty in my new notebook HP Pavillion G4 with 3bg RAM and 500gb hardisk. just bought it last month with windows7 in it. so i want to dual boot with natty. then i create a bootable usb with natty x86 and it succesfully installed but when i tried to boot it once again, i got blinking '_' on the top left of the screen. so i format it with active@killdisk. then i tried to install again but it freeze on ubuntu purple loading screen. i recreate the usb with x64 natty and install again. it still freeze on the purple screen. ive tried this about 10 times already. still freeze and sometimes i get this

~ unexpected exit with status 0x0009

then i run memory test (using the usb) and i have this :

Memtest 86+ V4.10
Intel SNB 2095 MHz
L1 Cache : 32 K 69845 MB/S
L2 Cache : 256 K 31747 MB/S
L3 Cache : 3072 K 23810 MB/S
Memory : 3020 M 14652 MB/S
IMC : Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 - 2310M CPU @ 2.10GHz/BCLK : 8 MHz
Settings : RAM : 0 MHz (DDR3- 0)

1024K e820 off

i have installed natty in my previous notebook ACER Aspire 4530 and it turns out ok.
please help me.. i really need to use it..

Quackers
September 30th, 2011, 06:01 AM
Welcome to UF :-)

Which graphics card is it using? You may need to use a boot option such as nomodeset until the correct graphics driver is loaded.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132

How many PRIMARY partitions are being used in your system?
In Win 7 go to Disk Management screen for details.

vinterkind
September 30th, 2011, 09:44 AM
Hi,

but it freeze on ubuntu purple loading screen

does it really freeze on the purple screen ?
Or could you press [<CTRL>]<ALT><F3> to get to another terminal ?

clausrei
September 30th, 2011, 10:07 AM
Hi,