PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Synergy not working as a server on Ubuntu

hewlett
September 28th, 2011, 11:33 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Ubuntu and Linux, I installed (with great difficulty) Ubuntu 11.04 on an old dell machine, and I have also installed QuickSynergy on this machine.

I have a windows 7 PC also, and I want to control the mouse & keyboard (using synergy 1.3 on Windows Pc) on the dell. I can get the Ubuntu machine to control the mouse and keyboard of the WPC but cannot get it to work the other way around, any suggestions please?

I have searched the forums and the googles and can't find an answer, not sure if you need any more information to help me.

Both machines are connected using wifi to my router. Any all ports in Windows firewall are open and on my router. I have a funny feeling this is a windows networking problem, but I could be missing something, any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks!

bigmac01
September 30th, 2011, 06:15 PM
I'm a little confused. Are you using the Win7 as the main controller (server) for the mouse & Keyboard with the Ubuntu acting as a client or the Ubuntu as your main PC (server) and the Win7 PC as the client?

My primary PC is my Win7 PC so I use that as my (synergy) server and my Ubuntu 11.04 as my client. Not sure this had anything to do with it but I also configured Samba so that I could share folders across machines.

I also wasn't happy with the Natty GUI so I switch back to GNOME.

The one big thing I had to resolve was that I wanted to have synergy running on Ubuntu before login (auto logon doesn't work coming back from sleep or hibernate) so I had to add synergy as part of >start-application (for after login) and edit some files in /etc/gdm directory so I could switch back over to Ubunto to re-login.

bigmac

ivancp
September 30th, 2011, 08:00 PM
I'm using synergys with a configuration file, like this:

file: config.sgc

section: screens
ivancp-ubuntu:
switchCorners = none
switchCornerSize = 0
winxp-desktop: