PDA

View Full Version : Computer Engineer needs advice - IT Security education?

bluedrgn
September 28th, 2011, 08:56 PM
I am a longtime lurker in these forums - I work with Ubuntu servers every day at my work and I frequently find answers to my problems up here. So bravo, Ubuntu community!

A little background:
I am a fairly recent computer engineering grad, I have been in the workforce for a little over a year now. I did great in school, graduated with honors, cum laud, all that good stuff and I really enjoy the field.

So, on to my conundrum:
I have always wanted to do IT security - specifically network security. Unfortunately, I did not have time to pursue this interest in college beyond taking the required courses for my major. I always assumed that this would be something I could get into if I could find a job willing to train me up.

When I graduated, I searched for jobs in this field but it seemed like nearly all of them required some level of previous experience and no one was interested in providing the training that would be required to get me up to speed. So I ended up taking the next most interesting position I could find: a sort of software design, hardware integration, server administrator hybrid.

I have been fairly happy at my position, but I still wish I could find a way to break into the IT security field. I understand that there's tons of "teach yourself" content on the web and I've read through some of it, but I have always been a better learner in a classroom environment - specifically when I have a mentor who's brain I can pick and interesting assignments that I will get good feedback on.