PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] How to add boot options

Juan Largo
September 27th, 2011, 07:46 PM
I've been using Linux for about 5 years and it is my main operating system. I have a question that I can't find the answer to. Before you tell me to RTFM, let me assure you that I have searched these forums, done a thorough Google search, and read through the GRUB2 manual.

Here's the question:

How do I include the cheat code "VGA=789" when booting with GRUB2?

I need that cheat code to prevent a loss of signal to my monitor while I boot Kubuntu 10.04.3. Otherwise, my monitor shuts off. I can add the cheat code when booting the Live CD, but I don't know how to include the cheat code after I install Kubuntu on the HDD.

With legacy GRUB, all I had to do is open menu.lst in a text editor, type in the cheat code on the boot line, and save the file. With GRUB2, menu.lst is gone and from what I've read, I'll have to write some sort of computer program in order to make any changes to GRUB2.

Please don't give me the usual responses about how much better GRUB2 is compared to classic grub, or how I must learn an esoteric computer language in order to keep up with everybody else. I'm not a computer programmer, and I'm too old (67 years) and don't have the time or patience for writing elaborate scripts to do simple things like this. I just want it to add a simple boot code without having to get a college degree in computer programming.

If you can help an old guy like me, thank you in advance. If you can't offer help, please refrain from posting comments.

Yours truly,

Juan Largo

matt_symes
September 27th, 2011, 08:16 PM
Hi

You need to add it to the grub command line ? If that is the case then open a terminal.

Type

sudo nano /etc/default/grub

to start nano editing the grub file.
Enter your password. It will not be echoed to the screen. This is normal.

Scroll to the line that looks something like

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"

and change it to