PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Safest and easiest way to uninstal ubuntu ?

rishi_singh
September 26th, 2011, 07:02 PM
I want to remove ubuntu 10.04 and its partition as safely and easily as possible. Online articles say that improper methods can render a system useless. I am not an expert in computer science and linux, so i cant do this easily. Any suggestions to solve my problem ?
I will instal ubuntu 11 later.

oldfred
September 26th, 2011, 07:17 PM
The issue is the boot loader, not Ubuntu per se.

What system are you still going to boot? You should install its boot loader first then delete the Ubuntu partition. The grub2 boot loader in the MBR relies on the grub2 files in the Ubuntu partition, so if you delete the partition first, you will not be able to boot.

If another install of Linux just boot it and install its boot loader to the MBR. If Windows do a Windows repair that reinstalls the Windows boot loader to the MBR.

Always best to have liveCD of current version of all systems installed. Since most install Ubuntu from a liveCD that works for Ubuntu, but if Windows you need to make a repairCD/USB.

Make your own Windows recoveryCD/repair:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows7/Create-a-system-repair-disc
http://forums.techarena.in/guides-tutorials/1114725.htm

Windows 7 repair USB, Also Vista if service pack installed
http://www.intowindows.com/how-to-repair-windows-7-from-usb-flash-drive-repair-without-installation-dvd-disc/
http://www.webupd8.org/2010/10/create-bootable-windows-7-usb-drive.html

If you need more info, post details of what you have installed.

collisionystm
September 26th, 2011, 07:22 PM
Did you dual boot with Win 7?

rishi_singh
September 26th, 2011, 07:28 PM
If you need more info, post details of what you have installed.