PDA

View Full Version : Final year Project Ideas for Ubuntu

grvsaxena419
September 25th, 2011, 06:34 PM
Hello all
I am a computer science undergraduate. I want to do my final year project on ubuntu. Please help me with some ideas related to ubuntu on which i can work.
I would have around 8-9 months for working on the project. I would like to work using c/c++.

marin123
September 25th, 2011, 06:40 PM
I'll just throw this in...
You can install Eclipse and Android SDK and make an Android app, that's what I was thinking for my masters. I know it's not C/C++, but you might like it :)

ve4cib
September 25th, 2011, 06:58 PM
You could try creating a simple filesystem, implement the appropriate kernel modules for it, and benchmark it against more standard filesystems. Or along the same vein, try writing a file system that uses an IMAP enabled email account for "cloud" storage.

If that's not your thing then you could find some application that you feel is missing or incomplete and write that. If you're modifying an existing progam you could even submit patches to the maintainers.

What area of CS are you interested in? AI? Kernel-level programming? Graphics? Data mining? ...? Without knowing more about your own interests it's very hard to suggest anything specific.

BeRoot ReBoot
September 25th, 2011, 07:15 PM
What area of CS are you interested in? AI? Kernel-level programming? Graphics? Data mining? ...? Without knowing more about your own interests it's very hard to suggest anything specific.

This.

If you're into networking, try writing a web/mail/file/*server, or better yet, invent your own protocol and write a client/server that implements it.

If you're into UNIX administration, try writing an update manager that doesn't hopelessly mangle your system during a major upgrade.