PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install App packages in Multiple Systems

pnrkumar
September 25th, 2011, 01:46 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Ubuntu. Recently decided to use Ubuntu intead of Windows. It's great experience learning & using Ubuntu. I've few questions regarding installation of app packafes in multiple systems.

We have to install ubuntu in about 10-12 Systems. All with different hardware. What I learned installing Ubuntu is, we need internet to get packages to install. There are offline option also available (But at this stage it's bit confusing for me).

Usually in Windows we used to download all the essential software like Flash, Java, Browsers, Games etc. & install the same in all the machines. Even in case of system crash we install the downloaded software.

But downloading the packages in Ubuntu in all the machines is time & bandwidth consuming process. My question is : "Is there a method where we can download all the essential packages once and install the same in all the machines, even the one without networking feature"?

I am looking for a solution as simple as possible and any suggestions are greatly welcome!

Thank you to the all Ubuntu Community for providing such great software, and the Open Source Community as well for creating so many great apps!

pnrkumar
September 25th, 2011, 02:59 PM
Thanks for the reply. Could you please help me with steps.

ajgreeny
September 25th, 2011, 03:05 PM
Assuming you have one main machine, and all the machines are running the same OS version, simply update and install everything on the main one, then copy all the .deb files from /var/cache/apt/archives on that machine to the same place on the other machines using a USB flash drive. It needs just two commands

cp /var/cache/apt/archives/*.deb /media/USBname/ then on the new machine
sudo cp /media/USBname/*.deb /var/cache/apt/archives/