PDA

View Full Version : safely store password with python

sam81
September 25th, 2011, 01:23 PM
I'm writing an application in python3 and pyqt4. The application needs to send email through the smtplib. I would like to store the password to authenticate on the server safely. I'm a total noob in encryption. I've tried hashing the password, but it doesn't seem to work. The following example works if I give the password in plain text to the server.login() function, but it doesn't work if I hash it before. What can I do?

import smtplib
import email.utils
from email.mime.text import MIMEText
import hashlib

passwd = "mypass"
passwd = bytes(passwd,'utf-8')
passwd = hashlib.sha1(passwd).hexdigest()

# Create the message
msg = MIMEText('This is the body of the message.')
msg['To'] = email.utils.formataddr(('Recipient', 'example2@gmail.com'))
msg['From'] = email.utils.formataddr(('Sender', 'example@gmail.com'))
msg['Subject'] = 'Simple test message'

server = smtplib.SMTP("smtp.gmail.com", 587)

try:
server.set_debuglevel(True)

# identify ourselves, prompting server for supported features
server.ehlo()

# If we can encrypt this session, do it
if server.has_extn('STARTTLS'):
server.starttls()
server.ehlo() # re-identify ourselves over TLS connection

server.login("example@gmail.com", passwd)
server.sendmail('example@gmail.com', ['example2@gmail.com'], msg.as_string())
finally:
server.quit()

simeon87
September 25th, 2011, 01:32 PM
SMTP sends passwords in plain text so sending the hash won't match the plain text password that is expected on the server. Basically, you'd be comparing the hash to the plain text password. You'd have to use a more secure version of SMTP to support logging in with hashed passwords. I don't know what those protocols are called though, you'd have to search for that.

merlin371
September 25th, 2011, 01:48 PM
you could use SMTPS (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SMTPS) which is pretty much SMTP with SSL on it

Also have a look at this thread