PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu and win7 are not working

skimg08
September 24th, 2011, 04:30 PM
I am a beginner in ubuntu. I tried to install ubuntu 11.04 in my laptop which already has a windows7 running on it. The installation went well. But when I boot into ubuntu, the laptop always hang after I login. When I tried to boot into win7, I can't login instead I got a message telling me that I have a problem that prevents me to log into my win7. I think it has something to do with registry? Now I don't know how to solve this prob. I will really appreciate any help from you guys, a lot of important data is inside that laptop.

Thanks!

sanderd17
September 24th, 2011, 04:35 PM
So you can boot both OS, but you can't log in for both too?

Normally these two problems have nothing to do with each other.

For Ubuntu, when you are at the login screen, the point where you have to give in your password, can you log into gnome without effects instead of Unity? (a list at the bottom of your screen)

skimg08
September 24th, 2011, 05:30 PM
Yes, I can boot but can't login.

But just now I got my friend help me, now I can login to ubuntu. The problem with ubuntu is that my installation is not complete. So I have to run ubuntu (classic) and it works. But now the problem is my Win7 is still not working. My Win7 is installed in the 'C' drive while my Ubuntu is installed in 'D' drive. Do you have any idea why is it crashing now?

Mark Phelps
September 24th, 2011, 06:16 PM
Do you have any idea why is it crashing now?

NO, but I can guess -- you used the "side by side" option to shrink your Win7 install, right?

That has the unfortunate side effect of sometimes corrupting the Win7 install and rendering it unbootable.

BEFORE you did that, you should have used the Win7 Backup feature to create and burn a Win7 Repair CD. You could be using that now to repair your Win7 install and making it bootable again.