PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wine won't work!

yotyoter
September 23rd, 2011, 08:34 PM
I installed WINE on my computer not to long ago from the Ubuntu Software Center. I put it on my launcher/dock (still not entirely sure what it's called) and when I go to run it, it won't run because the executable bit is not active and I can't find the folder where I would mark it as executable.
:confused: If you can't tell I'm a little new to this. HELP!!! :confused:

Toz
September 23rd, 2011, 08:46 PM
Wine in and of itself is just a compatibility layer that allows you to run some MS programs under Linux. If you just installed wine, then I believe the only application available is notepad. Did you install another application/game that is not working?

You may also want to consider installing PlayOnLinux instead. It's a much more user-friendly front-end to wine. Its available in the Software Centre.

MAFoElffen
September 23rd, 2011, 09:09 PM
I installed WINE on my computer not to long ago from the Ubuntu Software Center. I put it on my launcher/dock (still not entirely sure what it's called) and when I go to run it, it won't run because the executable bit is not active and I can't find the folder where I would mark it as executable.
:confused: If you can't tell I'm a little new to this. HELP!!! :confused:
??? Hmmm--- I've installed it this way on multiple boxes and never had what you are describing... Rather what you are describing sounds like there was an install error.

I would go back to the software center, remove Wine... when finished > Install.

When it is done, what you should find is a new menu item under Applications > Accessories > WINE...

yotyoter
September 23rd, 2011, 09:32 PM
I've installed Play on linux now and it is not the most recent. How do I update it?

Also, how do I completely remove wine to re-install?

Last question, how do you use wine once you get it working?

Mark Phelps
September 23rd, 2011, 09:36 PM