PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] windows 7 not in boot loader

iownahemi
September 23rd, 2011, 07:59 PM
Hi new to the forums and Ubuntu, thanks in advance for any help.
I partitioned my 500 gb hd, installed Ubuntu to dual boot, but when I boot the system it goes directly to ubuntu and doesn't give me the options to boot to windows, when I check the hd windows 7 is there. I've been working on this for days and can't figure it out. I'm new to Ubuntu but not to windows, so I guess I'm a semi noob.. 1 ? is can I just reinstall again over Ubuntu or do I have to uninstall first or is there a way to fix without reinstall? I'm using my other computer to write to this forum so I have a way to research.
My system is
HP Dual core 2.5 gig AMD Athlon
3 gig RAM
500 gig HD
I partitioned 43 gig for Ubuntu
and 43 gig for storage
the rest is Windows
Thanks again for any help

sanderd17
September 23rd, 2011, 08:01 PM
Can you give us the output of the boot info script? http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

iownahemi
September 23rd, 2011, 08:12 PM
I tried that and it didn't do anything
I typed: su bash ./boot_info_script.sh
and it say it doesn't exist

ajgreeny
September 23rd, 2011, 08:50 PM
From the folder where the .sh file is sitting you need to run
sudo ./boot_info_script060.shsu does not work in Ubuntu; we use sudo instead to get temporary root permissions for commands. Note also you need the full name of the script, now boot_info_Script060.sh if my version is the same as yours.

iownahemi
September 23rd, 2011, 08:53 PM
I formatted the partition and this time click import other os, which I think I missed the first time, so we will see soon if this worked!!

ajgreeny
September 23rd, 2011, 09:00 PM
I formatted the partition and this time click import other os, which I think I missed the first time, so we will see soon if this worked!!