PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] IP addressing and DNS help. Setting up connection to existing Network

PayPaul
September 23rd, 2011, 07:05 PM
I am trying to setup file sharing and access to my existing home network. I get the message that packages haven't been installed for this to work. I was told by some here that DNS needs to be setup. I've attempted that by editing the Etho0 settings with almost disastrous results. I'm a complete noob to Ubuntu network setups. Can someone walk me through the DNS or better yet point to the packages that need to be installed in order for network access to work. I can access the Internet through the Belkin 4g router but can't see other machines on the network nor, of course, those machine see mine.

capscrew
September 23rd, 2011, 08:34 PM
I am trying to setup file sharing and access to my existing home network. I get the message that packages haven't been installed for this to work. I was told by some here that DNS needs to be setup. I've attempted that by editing the Etho0 settings with almost disastrous results. I'm a complete noob to Ubuntu network setups. Can someone walk me through the DNS or better yet point to the packages that need to be installed in order for network access to work. I can access the Internet through the Belkin 4g router but can't see other machines on the network nor, of course, those machine see mine.

What packages does the message say are missing?

If you are going to use Network Manager for this interfaces you should not directly edit the eth0 settings directly. How do you want to setup the IP addressing: DHCP or Static -- manually editing the conf files or via Network Manager?

PayPaul
September 23rd, 2011, 09:49 PM
What packages does the message say are missing?

If you are going to use Network Manager for this interfaces you should not directly edit the eth0 settings directly. How do you want to setup the IP addressing: DHCP or Static -- manually editing the conf files or via Network Manager?