PDA

View Full Version : Kazaa

newhen
May 30th, 2006, 10:45 PM
Is kazaa illeegal oor not?

Dylan103
May 30th, 2006, 10:51 PM
I think all downloading things are.
But it depends on here you live I think.
But if you're using LINUX you would have to emulate it I believe.

Just
sudo apt-get install gtk-gnutella

Sef
May 30th, 2006, 10:56 PM

Almost nowhere are they illegal. What is illegal is to download traditionally copywrited files, e.g. songs, pictures, books, etc. not under a creative commons license.

newhen
May 30th, 2006, 10:56 PM

Just
sudo apt-get install gtk-gnutella
DO I need to do anything else?

newhen
May 30th, 2006, 11:00 PM
Sorry total noob at this I dont know how to use gtk

Dylan103
Nope that should be it.
Then it will be under
Applications -> Internet -> Gtk-Gnutella
Might not be looking how you want it, but you'll get used to it.

Kilz
DO I need to do anything else?

Dont download copyrighted material. I know someone who ended up paying the riaa $3500 because they thought they couldnt get caught.

BWF89
May 30th, 2006, 11:06 PM
Kazaa has spyware bundled with it

Rackerz
May 30th, 2006, 11:35 PM
Kazaa is a spware ridden piece of you know what. I haven't heard anybody talk about it in a while, the big daddy is LimeWire now.

BWF89
May 30th, 2006, 11:37 PM
Kazaa is a spware ridden piece of you know what. I haven't heard anybody talk about it in a while, the big daddy is LimeWire now.
LimeWire is probably THE most popular piece of open source software for the average end-user. Ask any guy at my school what program they use to download music and it'll probably be "I use LimeWire". Ask them what browser and you'll get "I use Internet Explorer" ask them what they use to write papers and you'll get "I use MS Office/Works or Wordpad".

Theres alot of people useing LimeWire.

ShanghaiTeej
May 30th, 2006, 11:49 PM
I noticed that you promote the Savage Nation in your signature. May I ask why you like it?

BWF89
May 31st, 2006, 12:37 AM