PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem with partitions

ericg27
September 22nd, 2011, 10:13 PM
Alright, so I've been through some threads and a lot loosely relate to my problems and the solutions seem to help but I feel as if I am running around in circles.

I'm a bit of a noob so things will need to be explained to me but here is what I've encountered so far.

I received a computer and I'm not sure what happened to it but what I do know is when I got it, the hard drive's OS had been deleted for whatever reason. So I decided to try Linux Mint 9 but I came across an error of "the ext4 file system creation in partition #1 (0,0,0)(sda) failed." I figured maybe it's just the disk so I decided to try Ubuntu and I could not get past the installation set up screen. I read through some threads and found out it is probably do to a bad partition which I thought maybe explained why mint didn't work either. So I used GParted and found the problematic partition and went ahead and cleaned the whole drive. I tried Ubuntu again and it went right past the set up screen and I figured I had solved the problem.... until half way through the installation I get the error "the ext4 file system creation in partition #1 (0,0,0)(sda) failed." It's the same error that I got with Mint.

Does anyone know how to solve this problem?

coffeecat
September 22nd, 2011, 10:49 PM
Welcome to the forum!

I would look at two possibilities at first. Either the hard drive is failing or, hopefully, it's as simple as a corrupted partition table which is making things difficult.