PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Total Newbie with display issues

mburman23
September 22nd, 2011, 06:52 AM
I'm stumped... I am installing lubuntu on an older pc. It's a pIII with s3 trio 32/64 graphics card and a sasmsung syncmaster 151v display. It boots up ok but only the top half of my display is "on". I can't see anything below the half-way point! I tried to install a driver specific to the s3 card (not sure how successful I was at that) but it didn't seem to help. I haven't a clue how to trouble shoot this... especially since I can't see the bottom half of the screen. In "command prompt" I have full display but I don't know how to use linux from the command line.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Michael

squenson
September 22nd, 2011, 07:05 AM
First test (FULLY read this message as you won't see it while you run the test! REMEMBER THE STEP 5 ( Ctrl-Alt-F7 ) IN CASE YOU ARE LOST WITH A BLACK SCREEN!):

1. Press Ctrl-Alt-F4 to get to a terminal mode
2. Login using your usual user-id and password
3. Type the command ls several times, just to see if the full screen is working
4. Logoff with the command Exit
5. Press Ctrl-Alt-F7 to get back to a graphical environment

mburman23
September 22nd, 2011, 03:03 PM
Thanks for your reply! I am able to fill the screen with text as you suggested. The display appears perfect in command line mode. I was not able to return to the GUI with CTRL-ALT-F8 but I think your test still validates something... exactly what I don't know yet... it appears that the hardware is ok... and that the issue is only in the GUI. What's next??