PDA

View Full Version : A tablet better than the iPad

rmcellig
September 20th, 2011, 11:44 PM
I have been using Macs since 1988. When the iPad came out, I was blown away by it's ease of use. Over the past few months, I have slowly been changing my attitude regarding Apple and the iPad as I delve more and more intu Linux. Are there any iPad like devices out there that are a better value than the iPad in terms of price but also flexibility and more overall options than the iPad?

el_koraco
September 21st, 2011, 12:10 AM
No.

forrestcupp
September 21st, 2011, 12:11 AM
The ASUS Eee Transformer is pretty awesome and you can find them cheaper than an iPad. Whether or not an Android tablet is better than an iPad is subjective. I'll just say that I am personally going to get a Transformer when I have the cash.

KiwiNZ
September 21st, 2011, 12:41 AM
The Samsung Galaxy, Acer Iconia and the Asus Transformer all offer viable competition to the iPad.

What you need to consider is what you currently use a Tablet for, what are you going to use a Tablet for and is your current commitment to your current system such that a change is, or is not worth the change.

Copper Bezel
September 21st, 2011, 12:41 AM
Edit: Scrubbed.

But yes, the Transformer looks quite nice, but it's all to do with what you intend to do with it, and the iPad is still sort of the leading stock, exactly-what-it-appears-to-be tablet at the moment.

drawkcab
September 21st, 2011, 12:57 AM
I'd wait another year.

3rdalbum
September 21st, 2011, 02:44 AM
Aspirin is a better tablet than the iPad. Easier to swallow, and it IS more flexible - look at the reported benefits of using Aspirin over the iPad: http://healthfully.org/aspirin/id2.html

Sorry, couldn't resist ;)

Android tablets don't always have that very tight integration that the iPad has, but it's pretty close from what I can see. You also get excellent features like free GPS navigation, Google docs, and integration with Gmail.

Lucradia