September 20th, 2011, 03:18 AM
Specifications:
MSI GT780DXR-099
Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM Processor
Chipset Intel® HM67
GPU NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 570M
RAM 16 GB
Live CD: Tried ubuntu x64 11.04 and 11.10 beta 1

After initial purple screen the boot process is haled on a screen listing detected hardware. Is this a driver issue?

phantom_
September 27th, 2011, 12:25 AM
can you please try older versions like lucid or maverick?

csnavely
September 27th, 2011, 06:37 AM
Hi im new to linux and im haveing the same problem with my acer aspire 5733z-4851 only it wont even attempt to boot from the live cd it just goes straight to windows start up. The live ck works on my husbands gateway nv79 only with no sound. Any ideas? I really like ubuntu and want to use it.

phantom_
September 27th, 2011, 10:09 AM
hello csnavely,

you've mentioned that computer boots straight from windows. i think you even do not see Ubuntu boot screen, right?

if that is the case, computer prefers to boot from hard drive, bypassing the CD. you have to change the boot sequence from the BIOS in order to force the computer to boot from CD.

cllgnc89
September 29th, 2011, 05:05 AM
can you please try older versions like lucid or maverick?
Yes, thanks! 10.10 works but dosent recognize the video card. I'm beginning to think that the stock nvidia driver dosen't support my GPU. I may try to modify the X config so I can get above 800x600 resolution.

phantom_
September 29th, 2011, 08:19 AM
hello again,

so maverick runs on GT780DXR, however GPU driver fails.

in fact, the GPU driver that you call stock Nvidia driver is named Nouveau, and it is kinda generic driver.

in order to fully enable an Nvidia GPU; you have to install Nvidia proprietary driver. you can download it here (http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux-display-ia32-280.13-driver.html). please try it and give us a feedback...

cllgnc89
September 29th, 2011, 05:06 PM
hello again,

so maverick runs on GT780DXR, however GPU driver fails.