PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Asus 1000HE netbook (sound problem returns!)

retrotronic
September 16th, 2011, 08:53 PM
Hello

I'm new here. First post to the forum. Hello all ):P

I'm new to Ubuntu. Currently I am running on Ubuntu 11.04 Natty (32 bit) on Asus EEE PC 1000HE (duel booting XP and Ubuntu).

Problem I have is:

Disappearing sound on my Asus EEE PC 1000HE netbook. Everytime I do a fresh install, a day later the sound disappears (haven't even installed anything so don't see how I broke anything with the sound disappearing!). It's almost as if Ubuntu has a mind of it's own!

A look at other posts regarding this particular netbook is that Ubuntu seems to have a sound issue with Asus 1000HE series netbooks. I've trawled through a few posts from people who have this problem, and I don't know which way to turn to fix the problem... Considering this bug has been around since this netbook has been out (which is about 3 years I would guess?) I'm surprised it still shows it's ugly head again in Ubuntu 11.04 Natty :-(

If anybody can please tell me how to fix this disappearing sound issue I would be greatful. Sound is unmuted, volume is at max, but no sound (it disappears after a while and I can't get it back!). Have so far installed Ubuntu 11.04 five times, and everytime the sound disappears after a day or so.

I need a quick, simple fix for this. I'm a Ubuntu beginner, so need clear instructions on how to fix this bug. I'm hoping to stick with Ubuntu, providing I can find a fix for this sound issue!

Thanks for reading. Looking forward to a reply to my query :D

retrotronic
September 17th, 2011, 04:47 PM
Edit: Thought I had sorted this issue. Sound still comes and goes...